Connect with us:
Join us in Twitter Join MEAVRS in Facebook


The Middle East Africa Vitreo-retinal Society (MEAVRS) is one of the MEACO subspecialty societies that was launched during the 10th MEACO congress on 27 March 2009 in Bahrain. The other subspecialty societies are the Middle East Africa Cataract and refractive Surgery Society (MEACRS), Middle East Africa Glaucoma Society (MEAGS), Middle East Africa Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Society (MEAPOSS), and Middle East Africa Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (MEASOPRS). Since the launch of the subspecialty societies, MEACO had a very positive response with many registered founding members across the five subspecialty societies.

Following the launch of MEAVRS, six (6) members formed the interim board and held its first meeting in Cairo in 2009. Prof. Dr. Hassan Mortada was selected as the head of the scientific committee. Soon after the meeting, 6 new members joined the board. The next board meeting was held on 10 December 2010. The President of MEAVRS, Dr Sherif Sheta, was elected and the duties of the board members and officers were determined. It was decided that the the interim board will serve World Ophthalmology CongressĀ® 2012 (WOC 2012) in Abu Dhabi.

The Board

The interim board consists of the following:
(Please click on the name to view the member's biography.)

1. Dr. Hassan AlDhibi - Saudi Arabia
2. Dr. Hamid Ahmadieh - Iran dr.hamid
3. Dr. Saad Al Khaleefa - Bahrain
4. Dr. Abdulaziz Badla - Syria
5. Dr. Faisal Fayyad - Jordan dr.faisal
6. Dr. Kibata Githeko - Kenya
7. Dr. Kaan Gunduz - Turkey
8. Dr. Hassan Kunle - Nigeria
9. Dr. Kgaogelo Legodi - South Africa
10. Dr. Hassan Mortada - Egypt
11. Dr. Sherif Sheta - Egypt
12. Dr. Manal Taryam - UAE
13. Dr. Ahmed Trabelsi - Tunis
MEAVRS Logo  MEACRS Logo  MEAGS Logo     MEAPOSS Logo     MEASOPRS Logo    MEAEBO logo

Copyright Ā© Middle East Africa Vitreo-Retinal Society